AZT to Pistol Hill

I didn’t ride a lot this month. My back was a bit in pain and I had to see a physical therapist. Apparently, my hip and legs aren’t very flexible and so things were pulling and hurting a lot. Stretching helped, though – even though it is not much fun – and I was able to go on a couple rides.

First, Lee showed me around the Pistol Hill area on the AZT. We started at 3 bridges and rode north. We stopped by the La Posta Quemada ranch, which I think is now known as Bandit Outfitters, where Lee had ice cream! The trail here is very smooth and flowy, with just a bit of rock and switchback here and there to keep things interesting. Overall, a great beginner trail with only a couple 5 feet hike-a-bikes on the way back. This was a must-do-ride and I was surprised that I hadn’t done it before.

Cienega Creek in December

Cienega Creek in December

Lee under one of the 3 bridges

Lee under one of the 3 bridges

20121125_141345 20121125_145633

Statue of "The Cowboy" at La Posta Quemada / Day Ranch.

Statue of “The Cowboy” at La Posta Quemada / Day Ranch.

At Day Ranch

At Day Ranch

20121125_161007 20121125_165018

Great sunset.

Great sunset.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

