TMP RockNRoad “light”

Last weekend, with my hip beginning to heal, I set out to give it a go and see where I am at. I am about to leave Arizona and head north, so I was inspecting my bucket list. Lo and behold: I hadn’t done the TMP RockNRoad challenge, yet! I set out to ride it leisurely and stretch a lot. It was supposed to be 75F, still quite warm for December, but I figured I’d be ok with 100 oz of home made energy drink. We’ll by the time I reached the saddle at Cat mountain, I was hot and looking at my last 20 oz in my Camelback. Yikes! Still ~2 hours to go to Palo Verde campground. By the time I reached Golden Gate pass, I was empty – and hurting – so I went off-route straight to the campground. I ate, drank, rested, stretched, but I didn’t really recover. Not sure why. I felt like I was done. I took the bypass on Brown mountain and then enjoyed the dirt roads through Saguaro NP West. I hadn’t been there before, kinda odd after 14 years on&off living in Tucson. The gas line road at the end was a bit ridiculous, with lots of crazy ups&downs and tons of gates and fences. Still, a good day out on the bike, riding 52 miles with 5k ft. climbing in 8:20 hr. No records, here!

Having a great time rolling on the Hans Dampf in Sweetwater park.

Having a great time rolling on the Hans Dampf in Sweetwater park.

Wonderful Tucson Mountain Park. Now, if only the sandy washes wouldn't grow so quickly, this would be a fun ride.

Wonderful Tucson Mountain Park. Now, if only the sandy washes wouldn’t grow so quickly, this would be a fun ride.

A row of Saguaros at Saguaro NP West, looking at Amole Peak.

A row of Saguaros at Saguaro NP West, looking at Amole Peak.

Back with still a wee bit of twilight left.

Back with still a wee bit of twilight left.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

