Capitol Forest exploration

A new, longer ride was in order this weekend, after having done the Thrilla ride and a Duthie loop the last 2 weekends. The snow-coverage map indicated that Capitol Forest should be mostly snow-free. Just in case, I double-checked per email with one of the locals (David), and got confirmation that I would be fine at lower elevations. A few hours perusing the mountain biking trails had me pretty excited and with a few options to try. I roughly followed the 50 mile endurance race, but skipped the south-eastern portion of Mima-Porter #8 trail because I did not want to explore new territory after dark. This made for a semi-epic 8 hour ride. Lots of rideable single track, with only one big tree down over the entire 40 miles. There was snow at higher elevation, so some re-routing was required. My new Lake MKZ 303 winter cycling shoes were awesome; keeping my feet well supported and warm in ~35 F. My front & rear fenders kept me clean for the most part and only rarely did some dirt end up on my glasses. Overall, no complaints about the equipment.

As I was loading up my bike in the dark, a couple vehicles were leaving the trailhead. One of them stopped and I chatted with the driver for a while. Turns out, he used to be a welder for Klein bicycles and had recently done a home-conversion of his favorite full suspension 26″er -> 29″er .

Overall, the riding was pretty nice, but a couple points:

– Don’t try to walk through clear-cut. It quickly dead-ends and becomes impassible… I won’t make that mistake again.
– People in this forest fire guns and semi-automatic weapons all day long – even mid-week. It’s like New Year’s eve, only more annoying and dangerous. I didn’t see anyone shooting, but heard it for more than half the ride. That some people fire guns for “relaxation” is totally incomprehensible to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

