A couple rides farther East

Winter is ending quickly, temperatures are around 50 F, and the snow at higher elevations is melting – due to the rain pouring over it. This brought with it the opportunity for a couple rides a bit east of here.

The first ride had me starting in North Bend and taking the Iron Horse trail, going past Rattle Snake lake, and then in a big 20 mile-loop catching the Middle Fork road, where I connected with the CCC trail and road. The Middle Fork road was soggy and covered in gravel and potholes. Wheew, was glad to be done with that and riding on the amazing CCC trail for a while. Lots of smooth, sweeping switchbacks and good XC fun was head. I turned around at the end, and retraced my steps instead of taking the Middle Fork pothole road. And for some odd reason, I just had to take the CCC road, which is a double track, riddled with about 1000 creek crossings – all in pretty good flowing conditions.

The next week’s ride started  on the other side of the Cascade mountains, in the little town of Cle Elum. I had some high hopes that snow-levels might be above 3500 ft on the eastern side of the Cascades, where the Rat Pac and Teanaway trails were peaking my curiosity. However, I ran into snow at 2700 ft., and then followed another trail contouring the hillside up to 3000 ft, before running into wet, white snow again. All that meant, was that I would go with plan b): exploring the Iron Horse trail east of Cle Elum. It was a good ride; I was playing with my heart rate to see how long I can go at 90% of max. It turns out that the answer is 3 hours, including a few photo stops and a 5 minute power break. I was completely done after that. Not something that I usually experience on a mountain bike, as trails make an evenly-paced ride very difficult. About 10 miles east of Cle Elum, the trees end, and just like that you are in wind-swept prairie. Quite different and a welcome change from the constant long-hanging clouds in the Seattle area.

Here are the pictures. First the Iron Horse / Middle Fork / CCC road trip:

Rattle Snake lake with plenty of old tree stumps.

Rattle Snake lake with plenty of old tree stumps.

Very, very high trestle bridge along the Iron Horse trail. I was too scared to get off and look over the railing :/

Very, very high trestle bridge along the Iron Horse trail. I was too scared to get off my bike and look over the railing :/

20130308_133235small

Sunset time riding on the CCC road of the 1000 creek crossings.

Sunset time on the CCC road – the road of 1000 creek crossings.

The street lights in North Bend welcomed me back after a long day in the saddle.

The street lights in North Bend welcomed me back after a long day in the saddle.

Next, the ride in the Cle Elum area:

Picture 474

Along the Iron Horse trail east of Cle Elum. The gravel was soft and big tires are an essential along this route.

Along the Iron Horse trail east of Cle Elum. The gravel was soft and big tires are essential along this route.

The east-side of the Cascade runs out quickly into high-desert prairie. Dry and windy.

The east-side of the Cascades quickly becomes dry and windy high-desert prairie.

20130315_150038small

20130315_150100small

20130315_150149small

20130315_150303small

20130315_150425small

Only half-ways to Ellensburg, the tail-wind kept picking up and signaling a long slog back to Cle Elum

Only half-ways to Ellensburg I turned around as the tail-wind kept picking up and signaling a long slog back to Cle Elum.

Time-jump ... sometimes I think I am ready to just go back 100 years ago to see this place in its hay-day.

Time-jump … sometimes I think I am ready to just go back 100 years ago to see this place in its hay-day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

